Holberg Prize News

Activism and Affects Explored During Holberg Debate

Legendary researchers and activists joined the panel for the 1 December Holberg Debate.

The Holberg Conversation with Cass Sunstein

During the Holberg week of June 2018, Holberg Prize Laureate Cass Sunstein met with Anine Kierulf to talk about his research, backround and and how he has worked to promote enduring constitutional ideals –freedom, dignity, equality, self-government, the rule of law – under contemporary circumstances.

The Holberg Committee in Amsterdam

The Holberg Committee recently met in Amsterdam to decide on a shortlist for the 2019 Holberg Prize.

Cui Zhiyuan joins the Holberg Committee

As of June this year, Professor Cui Zhiyuan from Tsinghua University is appointed a new member of the Holberg Committee.

LIVESTREAM: The Holberg Debate 2018: "Politics and Affects: The Dynamics of Social Mobilization"

Fifty years after the Year of Revolt, how important are affects in influencing the behaviour of voters, activists and policy makers? Achile Mbembe, Kathleen Cleaver and George Galloway meet in Bergen to discuss this question on 1 December.

Cass Sunstein's Acceptance Speech

The following is a transcript from the acceptance speech held by Holberg Laureate Cass Sunstein, at the Award Ceremony in the University Aula, on June 6, 2018

The Holberg Prize and the Nils Klim Prize 2018 conferred

Today, the Holberg Prize was conferred upon Harvard Law Professor Cass Sunstein by HRH Crown Prince Haakon of Norway.

Shouldn’t Every Adolescent Wait for Godot?

Should free speech laws be changed, and if so, how? How should the US approach the issue of gun control? And has the US Supreme Court become too politicized? These are some of the questions that 2018 Holberg Laureate Cass Sunstein addresses in this interview.

Meet the 2018 Masterclass panellists

A record 49 applications were received for this year's Masterclass. From these, six PhD candidates from Nordic universities have been selected to discuss "What to do about human error" with 2018 Holberg Laureate Cass Sunstein on 4 June.

Programme for the Holberg Week, with streaming links

We are pleased to welcome everyone to the Holberg Week, 2018. In addition to award ceremonies, there will be academic events featuring this year's Laureates, Cass Sunstein and Francesca R. Jensenius, as well as high-profile international scholars. Several of the events will be livestreamed, see the links for each event.